Cauliflower Rice Recipe

Hey Healthnut’s!

Hope you all had a fabulous Family Day! My sister and her husband just had their first official Family Day with their baby boy Orrin and I couldn’t be happier for them:)

babyorrin26013_10151396521856346_1866740281_n

I’ve been watching a lot of “Raw Vegan” YouTube Channels lately and it has inspired me to try out some raw recipes and incorporate them into my diet. I never realised that just by cutting up your veggies in different ways you can really change the way they work in a meal and how they taste in your mouth. My two new favourite raw vegan’s that I’ve been obsessed with lately is Megan from Easy To Be Raw and Kristina from Fully Raw. Go check out their websites and YouTube channels so amazing recipes and food tips!

My first attempt at a raw dish was to create a low-carb raw cauliflower rice recipe. I’m not a huge rice eater but I do enjoy it with chilli and as a side dish to some meals. I was really curious to see if I could create a similar look, feel and taste of rice by using a vegetable. I decided to go with cauliflower as it breaks apart like rice grains and is white in texture, plus it easily absorbs any flavour you add to it much like rice!

So here it is My Cauliflower Rice Recipe

Cauliflower Rice Recipe in a Bowl

You’ll need half a raw organic cauliflower, a cheese grater, a cutting board, a sharp knife, and a bowl for your “rice”

cauliflower rice reciipe piece of cauliflower

cauliflower rice recipe cauliflower on cutting board

Cut off the leafy part and thick stems from the cauliflower and chop into smaller hand size chunks, rinse and let dry

IMG_6077

IMG_6059

Next, take your cheese grater and grab a small chunk of cauliflower and begin to grate until you have your desired amount of “rice”

cauliflower rice recipe grated up cauliflower

IMG_6063

After you have your cauliflower rice all shredded and ready you can pretty much do what you’d like with it. You can either cook it up on a pan with some coconut oil, garlic and onion or simple keep it raw and enjoy as a side dish as a rice replacement.

cauliflower rice recipe grated cauliflower in a bowl

So there you go that is my cauliflower rice recipe I enjoyed mine raw and added it to my Three Bean Veggie Chilli🙂

cauliflower rice recipe in a bowl with chili

Let me know if you try out this amazing rice substitute and comment below! Also, be sure to check out Sunnie’s Giveaway over at Modern Girl Nutrition 🙂 

Your Healthnut ❤

17 thoughts on “Cauliflower Rice Recipe

  1. Oh wow. Never thought about using cauliflower in place of rice. I have however, tried it as mashed potato replacement. I think veggies are amazing and packed with vitamins and minerals. I feel it is important to get the daily recommendations for the vitamins and minerals. i will have to try out your recipe. Would love to post it on my blog as well. Let me know how you feel about that. Thanks.

    • I use it as “mashed potatoes” too and its great. Sometimes I mix it with mashed broccoli as well. I would love if you mentioned this post on your blog, just link it back to my site please with no changes to the original article:) cheers!

Leave a comment