What I Bought at the Grocery Store- Healthy Foods

As promised in my last post (MotivationMonday) I wanted to share with you HealthNut’s what I picked up at the grocery store the other day. This isn’t a FULL grocery shop but there’s a good mix of everything to add to your staples. In a normal week I usually hit the store a few times to buy groceries, mostly because I plan as I go with what I’m going to eat each day. I know that’s not always the best way especially if you have a busy week you would probably want to plan everything out on Sunday and precook most of your meals for the week. Since I’ve always lived close by to a grocery store and don’t have a car at the moment, small shops are convenient for me and for some strange reason I like grocery shopping.. I know weird right?

Since I’m currently in Perth, Australia you may not recognize some of these brands if your from Canada or the States but I’m sure you can find similar brands and products:) When I first arrived in Australia (about a year ago) I wasn’t sure what brands and products I would like best and since it’s quite expensive here I normally opted for the cheaper stuff which to be honest I wasn’t a fan of. But after trial and error and asking my fellow Aussie friends (Jacinta) I now know which foods to buy that taste delicious and won’t break the bank.

What I Bought at the Grocery Store:

Dry Foods 🙂

-Nut Bars, rice cakes, rice crackers, sweet and salty popcorn(SO GOOD!) ,corn chips, muesli

-Almond milk, Greek yogurt, hummus, quinoa, vegetable stock cubes, Decaf green tea (check out my caffeine free blogpost)

Fresh produce! -The good stuff:)

Mango, kiwi, apples, bananas, mixed greens, broccoli, zucchini

Can’t leave without some dark chocolate! Love this flavour<3 I only eat about 2 squares a night.

I also purchased items like water, new vitamins (which I will post in a sperate blogpost!) honey, agave, etc.

Tips for Shopping Healthy on a Budget:

Scope out the deals! 

When your at the grocery store first thing you should do is pick up a flyer and check out what the specials are and buy those veggies, fruit and so on for that week. I normally work my meals around whats on sale. If squash is on sale but pumpkin isn’t you know which one I’m going to be purchasing:) You can save so much money by sticking to the deals and avoiding out of season produce and when your staple items are on sale STOCK UP!

Buy In Bulk

Normally you will save more when you buy more. Something may be 3 for 5 dollars or if you go to a bulk food store you can pick up all your spices,nuts,etc.  for so much cheaper and just put them in air tight jars yourself.

Make a List and Check it Twice

If you make a list of everything you need when your at home you won’t end up forgetting things or buying too much! Even if I’m already on my way to the store, I’ll quickly start putting together a list on my phone of everything on the top of my head that I know I’ll need. This helps so much since I always seem to forget things that I’ve recently run out of or staples for a recipe I’m going to be making.

Don’t go to the Store Hungry!

This is a huge one for me! If I go shopping hungry, no word of a lie I will leave the store with everything I saw that looked yummy. I usually try to eat before I head out and I also pack a few snacks in my purse like a piece of fruit and a protein bar to curve my hungry if it hits. I find you just can’t think straight when your hungry and trying to sort out what to eat for the rest of the week. Things can get messy and you’ll end up buying foods high in carbs and sugars since those are the foods you crave when your starving.

For more tips for Healthy on a Budget click here!

Hope you enjoyed a quick preview of what I bought at the store and hopefully my tips will help you at your next grocery shop:)

What are some of your favourite foods to buy at the grocery store? Let me know in the comments below!

Your HealthNut ❤

You might also enjoy these blog-posts as well!

Motivation Monday

Healthy Breakfast Options

The Big Buddha Salad

6 thoughts on “What I Bought at the Grocery Store- Healthy Foods

  1. Pingback: What I Ate Wednesday #1- WIAW | Healthnut Nutrition

  2. Gazing over the pictures first I was like ‘I recognise these brands, Canada must have a lot of similar products as us’ Then I read the article. I hope you are enjoying Australia!

Leave a Reply

