Healthy Blueberry Flax Muffins


~Have you SUBSCRIBED yet? Did you know it’s absolutely Free and you will never miss a new HealthNut  blog-post.. Please share the love and subscribe to my blog by entering your email address in the text box on the homepage (top right corner) where it says “:Sign Me Up!”~



Do you ever wake up in the morning craving pastries, bagels or MUFFINS! Well I don’t know about you but if I can  find a healthy alternative to carbs in the morning that also contain added benefits like omega 3’s and protein I’m down! This muffin recipe not only tastes amazing- probably one of the best muffins I’ve had in a while- but it’s also packed with nutrients. I spent some time researching healthy alternatives to common baking ingredients to  make these muffins as healthy as possible!

What You’ll Need:

1 1/4 cup of brown rice flour

1/2 cup of coconut flour

1/2 almond flour (my personal favourite but can be pricey)

1/2 cup of ground flax seed

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 cup of coconut oil or applesauce both are great!

1 egg

1 cup plain non fat Greek yogurt

3/4 organic brown sugar

2 cups of fresh or  frozen blueberries

1/2 cup of toasted walnuts

How To Make:

  1. Combine flours, flax seeds, baking powder, soda and salt into a mixing bowl.
  2. next in another bowl combine oil, yogurt and brown sugar and mix until all ingredients are evenly mixed.
  3. Stir in dry ingredients and add in your blueberries, and walnuts.
  4. Scoop batter into a muffin tin (you can sprinkle with raw sugar-optional) and bake at 400 degrees for about 15-18 minutes depending on your oven.

Presto! Enjoy these blueberry wonders and let me know what you think in the comments below 🙂

Your HealthNut ❤

You might also like:

8 thoughts on “Healthy Blueberry Flax Muffins

  1. After looking over a few of the blog posts on your web page,
    I truly like your way of blogging. I book-marked it to my bookmark website list and will be
    checking back in the near future. Take a look at my website as well and tell me
    your opinion.

  2. Pingback: Twenty Ways To Use Finely Ground Flax Seed. Flax seed recipes. - flaxplus4u

  3. Hey there would you mind stating which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going
    to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking
    for something unique. P.S My apologies for getting off-topic
    but I had to ask!

    • Thats exciting! I use WordPress and I really like it. Very user friendly and popular among other bloggers as well. You can find plenty of free themes/templates online or pay for one..which ever works best for you! good luck 🙂

Leave a Reply

